If you have been charged with drunk driving or driving while intoxicated in the State of Virginia, then you’re facing the possibility of stiff fines and DUI penalties, including a lost license and jail time. If you are arrested, contact Jad Sarsour, a DUI Lawyer in Fairfax County, VA – a DUI arrest is not the same as a DUI charge. It’s vital to get out in front of the case and hit the ground running.
Fairfax County DUI attorney Jad Sarsour will start negotiating your defense as soon as possible – even before charges have been filed. For information about drunk driving laws and how to defend against the consequences of drunk driving, contact Jad Sarsour as soon as possible to set up a free initial consultation.
Driving under the influence is one of the most commonly charged crimes in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The standards required to issue a DUI charge are similar to those in other states. According to § 18.2-266 in the Virginia Code, you can be charged with driving under the influence if you are found operating a motor vehicle with a BAC (blood alcohol content) of 0.08 or higher. You can also be charged with a DUI with a lower BAC if you are found to be under the influence of narcotics or even prescription drugs.
Take Immediate Action to Secure Your Freedom!
If you are arrested for a DUI and your blood alcohol level (BAC) is .08 percent or more, your driver’s license will be taken away by the arresting officer at the time of your arrest. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will suspend your license and issue a temporary permit for 30 days. You must schedule a DMV hearing within 10 business days of your arrest in order to appeal the license suspension. We will effectively guide you through this process in an aggressive effort to eliminate your license suspension.
DUI/DWI Virginia Code Sections and DMV References
Virginia Alcohol-Related Motor Vehicle Statistics (Calendar Years 1987-2012)